Birthday Shuffle

So I turned 40 today…made me a little reflective about all the great music I’ve heard over the last four decades.  From my earliest memories of singing Carpenters songs in the shopping cart at the grocery store to discovering new and strange bands today.  In between there were some pretty distinct periods…

The box of 45’s that an uncle gave me…Beatles, Beach Boys and other mid 60’s jukebox fare that I played endlessly.

The K-Tel album era because my Mom wouldn’t let me buy a whole album just because I liked one song.

The album (LP) discovery period: Styx, J. Geils, Aerosmith.

The buying cassettes with my own money period: Van Halen, Ozzy, Def Leppard, The Police, ZZ Top, Men At Work.

The Metal Years which officially started the day I heard Motley Crue on the radio and still continues to this day.  Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Twisted Sister, W.A.S.P. etc.

The college/alternative/grunge years…in college oddly enough.  Soundgarden, Primus, Fishbone, King’s X.

The Jazz years working at HMV in the Jazz department constantly picking Dave Dunn’s brain and going to all the great NYC Jazz Clubs weekly.

The experimental years while repping World music in NYC…here I got into Tortoise, Tim Berne, Scandinavian Folk music and all kinds of other strange things I read about in Wire.

The Metal resurgence years that started in 1999 when I started writing for Promethean Crusade.  Opeth, Pain of Salvation.

And whatever you call it now…the anything goes completest music geek extravaganza where nothing is off-limits and I want to hear it all.

I still listen to everything from every era, no guilty pleasure…just pleasure.  As I write this I’m listening to Andres Segovia’s Bach album.  I can tell you when and where I bought it.  I can also tell you that I also bought Aerosmith’s Permanent Vacation at the same time.  The store owner looked at me like I was nuts.  So here’s a shuffle from today that illustrates some of that:

King’s X – Open My Eyes (live)

Mike Keneally & BFD – Live In Japan

Baroness – Cavite

Zappa – Cruisin’ For Burgers

Jeff Healey – Baby’s Lookin’ Hot

Zappa – Overture to a Holiday in Berlin

Francesco Zappa – No. 4 1st Movement

Alem Girma Band – Tenageri

Mr. Bungle – Platypus (live)

Heart – Crazy On You

Soundgarden – Stolen Prayer (demo)

Naked City – Devil’s Island (live)

Voivod – Fuck Off and Die

Sam & Dave – Soul Man

Mike Patton – Supercharged (Crank sdtk)

King’s X – Visions (live)

Alamaailman Vasarat – Jano

Mastodon – Where Strides the Behemoth

Eric McPherson – The Collective Espression

King’s X – Over My Head (live)

 

 

 

About J

I am a happily married Father of three living in Westchester County New York.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

