2011 So Far

I pledged to try and be better about keeping track of what I listen to in 2011 so I thought I’d post a little update to prove it.

January 1

Soilwork – A few friends have been raving about the latest Soilwork, it’s aight.

Early Man – Still digesting their new one…stay tuned.

Puya – So glad my favorite Latino Metal band got back together to record…now if only they’d bring back the horn section!

January 3

Atheist – This was on a LOT of top ten lists for 2010 so I thought I’d better check it out…still listening.

Pillars of the Earth (Trevor Morris) – Got the DVD set of this UK mini series for Xmas and just finished watching it.  The music is a cool blend of old and new instruments and sounds.  Loved the book and loved the series.

January 5

MMW – Live at Tonic…I used to go see these guys in the mid 90’s when no one knew who they were.  Then one day I show up at the Knitting Factory and the line goes around the block.  Turns out they had just played with Phish…

The New Mastersounds – I saw these guys a few years ago at SxSW upon the suggestion from a friend…it’s got a funky beat and you can dance to it but I want  more diversity in the sound.

Earth – Droney goodness, I liked the last one better with Bill Frisell on guitar.

January 6

Segovia Bach – I bought this CD a million years ago and mentioned it here a couple weeks ago.  Brilliant.

January 7

King Crimson – This is a band that I’ve been meaning to get deeper into for years.  I have a few things, mostly recent.  You always see them referenced in other bands’ bios so I’ve been listening to Islands a lot, the Steven Wilson remix. So much good music on their catalog.

January 8

U.S. Christmas – I heard about these guys when Baroness hyped them in an interview…loving their new record…dense in a good way.

January 12

Garth Knox – His Damore record on ECM was in my top ten of 2009.  he plays a Viola D’amore which has sympathetic resonating strings and makes a cool droney sound not unlike a Hardanger Fiddle.  I went looking to see if he’d done anything new and found an album of solo improv on this online label SHSK’H

January 13

shsk’h – See above…found a bunch of cool contemporary classical pieces here…

Well that covers a couple weeks, more later.

About J

I am a happily married Father of three living in Westchester County New York.
This entry was posted in discovery, downloads, Folk Music, Gateway Albums, ipod, Jazz, Metal, music, now playing, Porcupine Tree, Prog, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

