Land of 1000 Listens

Forget hipsters, scenesters and taste makers…if you want an opinion on good music then you’re going to go with someone you trust.  It can be a friend, colleague or just someone who listens to a lot of music from a lot of genres and is able to speak intelligently about it.  They’re not out to sell you anything or get ‘hits’ for their site, they just appreciate music.  You may not like everything they suggest and that’s ok, but everything they write about is worth hearing.

Land of 1000 Listens is based on Tom Moon’s book 1,000 Recordings To Hear Before You Die and exactly what it says, nothing more and nothing less.  Here’s how it will go:

  • In a slight variance from the book title, I’m not going to just hear these recordings, I’m going to listen to them.  Several times for each – unless it’s an album I’m very familiar with – in which case I’ll probably only listen once.  That’s why I’m thinking I won’t listen to more than one or two each week.
  • I’m going to follow the book and go in alphabetical artist order.  This strikes me as fun because the musical styles I hear will bounce all over the place.  That will be one of the most interesting parts of this journey for me – getting to hear genres I generally haven’t touched – classical, opera, world…
  • I’m going to listen to the recordings on Spotify (as many of you know, this is my new addiction).  If something is not on Spotify, I’ll move on and come back sometime later.  I’m not going to spend hours scouring the Internet for a rare recording just for the sake of perfection.  It will actually be quite interesting to see how I’m digesting music when this journey is done – six months ago, I hadn’t even heard of Spotify – what will music consumption be like in 2022?  Crazy thought.

Artists covered so far have included ABBA and Muhal Richard Abrams, that should give you some idea of how diverse things are going to be.

So bookmark it, subscribe to it, write the URL on a post-it and stick it to your monitor…whatever it takes.  Keep checking back and keep listening.

http://1000listens.blogspot.com/

About kiscodad

I am a happily married Father of three living in Northern Westchester County New York.
This entry was posted in discovery, Folk Music, Gateway Albums, HMV, Introduction, Jazz, music, NYC, Prog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

